A slang word for web log…..with one G!

blogg

Sure, for most part I relate blog to the words slog, fog, bog or even a flog. All quite negative terms and yet all relate to my personal feelings of having to write when perhaps I could be drinking coffee/ beer or resting. All of which are very important to me and pose no effort to think or strain such as I find myself in whilst writing this Blog.

So first things first, I thought it important to understand what a blog is, how should I spell the word…..one G or two, what does the word actually mean and why would I want to blog? After several google searches and one or two sips of coffee and a little rest (it’s too early for a beer), I came up with all the relevant answers.

A blog is “[a] collection of posts…short, informal, sometimes controversial, and sometimes deeply personal…with the freshest information at the top.”–Meg Hourihan.

Of interest one site I read outlined in fine detail why people blog, stating…..”that every human has a voice and wishes their voice to be heard”. Sure, I agree that most of us have a voice and most would like to be listened to, but do most of us wish to voice our thoughts to a global audience? In fact, who really wants to read what I am writing here? I have to be honest and say that it wold be a little weird if someone other than my work colleagues where to read this and at the same time a little exciting if more did read this post. A wee paradox me thinks!

I have discovered how to spell blog (not always my strongest point), I understand what it means and is, and now I need to investigate why I would blog!

Is this just another life addiction to replace Twitter, texting, emails, internet, mobile devices, Facebook, TV, etc etc etc. Is this just another way to use up time that could be used productively on life itself by drinking coffee, beer and resting? Is this just another way to fill up our lives with useless, unread prose?  Do I really need to know  the 8 Reasons Successful People Are Choosing to Wear the Same Thing Every Day? Come on, surely we all have better things to do with our time.

Whilst I listen intently to my thoughts and feelings on this matter I also listen intently to my sensei Thom and decided to “reflect”….ooohm, ohm, ohm. Whilst meditation is not for everyone and can be a difficult skill to master,  what meditation tells us is that we can use Brainwave entertainment also known as soundwave meditation or binaural beats to access and alter different levels of the subconscious mind.  Brainwave meditation is not only relaxing – practitioners believe it can open a mind to new ideas, inspire you and help you to think more creatively.

So after much meditation I conclude that this blog thing could serve as a personal/professional journal. It can train me to be observant and gives weight to the personal growth that I experience. It may train my mind to track life and articulate the changes I experience. My blog can become a digital record of my life that is saved “in the cloud.” As a result, it can never be lost, stolen, or destroyed by fire, and most importantly I will always have a record of my mind…….very cool.

Perhaps we all have a reason to blog wether it be our choice of clothes or to record our mind. One thing I now recognise is that mung beans and lentils are okay for some and beer and coffee are okay for others. My reason to blog is to record, reflect and smile…. ooohm, ohm, ohm.

Leave a comment